## BAXTER COUNTY QUORUM COURT JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

August 2, 2023

The Baxter County Quorum Court met in regular session at 6:00 PM in the Baxter County Courtroom with County Judge Kevin Litty presiding. Members present were: Rhonda "Tink" Albright, Ty Chapman, Cameron Davis, Angela DeGroote, Maryanne Edge, Dennis Frank, Charles Osgood, Roger Steele, Rick Steiner, Dirk Waldrop, and Shannon Walker. The meeting began with a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Judge Litty asked if there were any additions or corrections to the minutes of the July meeting. Justice Edge moved that the minutes be approved as submitted. Justice Albright seconded that motion. All voted in favor.

## Reports:

A brief Treasurer's report was provided.

Justices Davis and Frank reported on the July 24 joint meeting of the Budget and Economic Development Committees. Minutes of that meeting will be attached to this Journal.

## Old Business:

2<sup>nd</sup> Reading-Ordinance #2023-, AN ORDINANCE ADOPTING REVISIONS AND ADDITIONS TO THE BAXTER COUNTY PERSONNEL POLICY MANUAL AND PAY SCALE AND AN ORDINANCE ADOPTING REVISIONS AND ADDITIONS TO THE BAXTER COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE PERSONNEL POLICY MANUAL AND PAY SCALE, was sponsored by the Personnel Committee and read by title only by the Clerk. It was then tabled for its third and final reading at next month's meeting.

## New Business:

Appropriation Ordinance #2023-54, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FEES AND REIMBURSEMENTS RECEIVED IN THE MONTH OF JUNE TO THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT 2023 BUDGET, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice DeGroote made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Davis. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, and Walker. Motion passed, and Appropriation Ordinance #2023-54 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Appropriation Ordinance #2023-55, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$89,000.00 FROM ROAD AND BRIDGE FUND (#2000) INTO THE ADDITIONAL MOTOR FUEL TAX FUND (#2003), was sponsored by Justice Albright, and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Edge moved to adopt, seconded by Justice Frank. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, and Albright. The motion passed, and Appropriation Ordinance #2023-55 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Appropriation Ordinance #2023-56, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FUNDS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$195,291.93 IN THE LATC FUND (#1007), was sponsored by Justices Frank and Osgood, and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Albright made a motion to adopt. Justice Steiner seconded that motion. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, and Chapman. The motion passed, and Appropriation Ordinance #2023-56 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2023-16, A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF WAYNE FRAZIER BY THE COUNTY JUDGE TO THE RODNEY-JORDAN FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, was sponsored by Justice Steele and read in its entirety by the Clerk. Justice Albright moved to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman, and Davis. The motion passed, and Resolution #2023-16 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2023-17, A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF FRED BAER BY THE COUNTY JUDGE TO THE NORFORK FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, was sponsored by Justice Chapman, and read in its entirety by the Clerk. Justice Edge made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Albright. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Edge, Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, and DeGroote. The motion passed and Resolution #2023-17 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2023-18, A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF EARL OLSON AND THE RE-APPOINTMENT OF ROY LANGSTON BY THE COUNTY JUDGE TO THE NORFORK FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, was sponsored by Justice Chapman, and read in its entirety by the Clerk. Justice Davis made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Steiner. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Frank, Osgood, Steele, Steiner, Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, and Edge. The motion passed and Resolution #2023-18 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2023-19, A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE BAXTER COUNTY JUDGE TO APPLY FOR A GRANT ON BEHALF OF THE COTTER-GASSVILLE RURAL FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT, was sponsored Justices Albright and Walker, and read in its entirety by the Clerk. Justice Edge motioned to adopt, seconded by Justice Walker. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Osgood, Steele, Steiner,

Waldrop, Walker, Albright, Chapman, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, and Frank. The motion passed, and Resolution #2023-19 was adopted with a vote of 11 YEA, 0 NAY.

Announcements and Public Comments:

Justice Davis commented that the Court should be open to finding ways to approve financial requests, rather than just being the place where good ideas come to die.

After other brief comments, and being no further business before the Court, Justice Edge made a motion to adjourn. Justice Albright seconded that motion, and the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Canda J. Reese, Baxter County & Circuit Clerk

Secretary to the Quorum Court